For more information regarding STAAR Alternate 2 assessment and resources, please click HERE.

    STAAR Alternate 2 -

    TEA has developed the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) Alternate 2 assessment to meet the federal requirements mandated under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), a federal education law previously known as No Child Left Behind. The Texas Education Agency (TEA) designed the STAAR Alternate 2 to assess students in grades 3–8 and high school who have significant cognitive disabilities and are receiving special education services.


    STAAR Alternate 2 annual assessments include:

    Reading and Mathematics, grades 3–8
    Science, grades 5 and 8
    Social Studies, grade 8
    End-of-Course (EOC) assessments for English I, English II, Algebra I, Biology and U.S History.